The Crybaby

A couple years ago, I was visiting a friend in his dorm and we were talking about immigration- of course, the DREAM Act. He was new to the issue and I was telling him about it.  A friend of his walked into the room (where we were having a sane, intelligent talk), picked up the thread of the discussion, and said something along the lines of “well, they don’t belong here”.

I choked up and I cried, right there, in front of him. I can listen to this on TV, I can read about it, I can hear it on the radio, I can receive poorly written hate mail from people who let the profanity rip and compare immigrants to cockroaches and leeches, but I cannot listen to somebody tell me to my face that my friends, other human beings, are unworthy of happiness and are criminals who deserve to be punished because they don’t have papers. I have a real physical reaction to this, and I can feel my throat get thick, my shoulders contract, I start tuning out of the conversation and I feel myself retreat into a shell because I can’t hear it.

I started out doing this, and by this I mean supporting a path to citizenship for immigrants, because a few years ago I made some friends.  And they are cool. I like them. They are normal human beings. Some of them are extraordinary high achievers with masters degrees, JDs, special awards, incredible accomplishments…and some of them are just normal, and probably wouldn’t be chosen as the poster children for the DREAM Act. But all of them have at least one thing in common: they just want a life. They want all the normal things people want: friends,  families, an interesting job,  some good for the world, time to travel, etc.

I believe in being happy, and I want other people to be happy too. If people are here to study, work, raise families, and have an adventure here and there, then what’s the problem? Since when is having a growing, taxpaying middle class, largely entrepreneurial, a problem?

This isn’t rocket science. They are people who, driven either by war, economic devastation, or natural calamities have left their homes forever, and come here to try and make a life. I don’t have kids (thank you, Planned Parenthood), but I know enough to understand that when you love your children, and everything is on the line, you would do anything for them. Including cross the border.

So like I’ve said before, crossing the border is an act of love. And personally, my act of love will be keeping them here.

41 thoughts on “The Crybaby

  1. Crossing the border “an act of love?”, it’s not yours and you have no right to walk across the border without inspection. Don’t give me that crap about race..every legal immigrant is inspected for documents, illness and finances. I believe the mentality that we owe you anything is what gets our blood pressure rising and we oppose the dream act. Have you ever said thank you to the taxpayer that was forced to pay for your education? Our ancestors built this Country..WE have the right to deny entry to anyone.

      • If you are a citizen, you would not be in favor of someone taking what is yours. Don’t defend those that choose to enter illegally. Name calling is excused due to your age and lack of real world experience.

      •  Hello, I do not mean to intervene in your conversation this way, but I just realized something about your comment. Logically speaking, you are stating that All citizens must not be in favor of people “taking” what is allegedly “yours”. Nevertheless, if an undocumented immigrant becomes a permanent resident and consequently an American Citizen, does that mean he/she would have to follow the same pattern as the rule you just stated? To be honest with you, I do not think that is going to happen. The reason being is that such immigrant has already gone through the hardships of being undocumented, something a naturally born citizen would never know. Since when do we teach each other to be so self-centered? A friend of mine would say “you want to kick me out of here when I would like us both to work together to contribute towards the growth of this country”. We are offering a hand and you are turning your face.

      • When you knock on my door, I decide to let you in or keep you out. It is my right as the owner of the home. If you climb in the window and make yourself at home, it doesn’t mean that you were welcomed in and can stay. Imagine the problems when everyone gets to decide which laws to break! In kindergarten we were taught not to jump ahead of anyone in line or take something that does not belong to us. Civilized people obey the law and I know that there are many good, wonderful people in this world, we only ask that you knock on the door before entering. Say thank you when taxpayers are forced to pay for education, welfare and medical care. We are broke!!!

      • I do understand where you are coming from. However, your analogy cannot possibly resemble our country’s current situation. I believe that if most of us would take the consideration of thinking “why is it that people are illegally crossing our borders?”, we would be able to create a more effective way to deal with this situation. Just think about it, there are millions of undocumented people in this country. Massive deportation is near impossible. If we have human capital that is willing to be used, why do not we educate it so that way we can benefit from more professionals?

      • Oh, we know why they are coming over the border, the Mexican government sends them here for our taxpayer to feed, house and educate. The fact that money transfers are helping their GDP. Deportation will be easy..cut off all welfare, education and medical..they will leave the same way they got here. In Mexico the University is free for it’s citizens, I suggest the “dreamers” not wait for a dream here but to go to the country of their birth. Smart kids are needed there and will benefit from the professionals. Did you ever figure that the reason the US is broke is that so much of our money goes to foreign nations and their citizens?

      • The government itself does not send anyone anywhere. Immigrants have always been driven by necessity. By the way, why do you only specify Mexico? Do you know that not all immigrants come from Mexico? If you did not know, undocumented immigrants cannot claim any welfare or medical benefits, and those who abuse and actually take those benefits are prone to be deported if a Federal agency finds out about what they are doing. Also, the only “free” university in whole Mexico is located in its capitol state of Mexico’s Federal District (UNAM). The rest of the higher educational systems require  quarterly quotes that can only be afforded by the upper class. Finally, the U.S. is broke because it hasn’t been able to reduce the National Debt, specialize in one specific industry, and fix the social security reform.

      • NO massive deportation is NOT impossible. It has been done TWICE in the past. It can easily be done again. People like you, pretend that it cant be done, as an attempt to stop it from being considered.

        There are several ways to handle the situation. Use land mines on the border for example.
        Arrest all illegals and ship them to a mass prison is say Nevada. And keep them there until
        they voluntarily repatriate. The one thing you DONT do, is allow them to wander around taking jobs.
        Once they realize that they WONT be making any money, maybe they will leave.

        I dont want a cost effective way to solve the problem. For me, the solution is for the illegals to NOT BE HERE.

        Educate them so that they can what? Use the judicial system against us trying to stay here?
        I have a better idea. Deport them and let the home country educate them.

      •  I never stated it cannot be done. I said that massive deportation is NEAR impossible.
        Land mines? I cannot believe what you are saying! You truly want to annihilate human beings? Really? Is this what true Americans represent? Also, how do you pretend to go back to Hitler’s era and relocate  immigrants in concentration camps?!!! You may say that all I state is pure glib, but man!!! Look at what you are saying! Is there really no way for you to feel some sympathy? I truly hope you could only open your mind a little, and just a little bit to realize that you are talking about human-sentient-beings who have necessities, feelings, and a presence. Millions of Jews died during Hitler’s reign, and you are proposing a similar way to end the presence of undocumented immigrants.

      • I’ll do exactly as I please, thank you very much. And your lack of compassion is excused due to your age and lack of real world experience. 

      •  Dear Flavia, thank you for sharing your story with us. Some of us who understand you appreciate you for taking your time to actually make a real statement about people’s ignorance about immigration and the way some of us feel whenever people make inappropriate comments. Now, I would like to give you a word of advice. As a person who now looks up to you, I would recommend you not to use any words that might offend people that disagree with us; it is like feeding their lack of self-esteem and neglect. Please don’t fall in their games and just keep posting your stuff. Thanks for sharing again!
        Frank.

      • How silly of me…Mexico was started by nuns and monks, they never murdered anyone. Got to go my “slave” is bringing me tea.

  2. The United States belongs to its citizens. Not to anyone else. No one has said illegals are not human beings. We HAVE said that they are not US CITIZENS. Their rights if any exist in their home countries.
    NOT in my country. The decision to allow them to stay here, is NOT their decision. It is OUR decision.
    We have the right to say NO, WE HAVE ENOUGH. We have the right to remove illegals by force, if they refuse to leave on their own. No one enjoys party crashers.

    •  Once again, the United States does not belong to anyone (individuals). You know what sovereignty means right? Our country is an independent entity, a separate body that constitutes a nation, not individuals. No man is above the law, and what you are saying is that some individuals must be above the law because they “have the choice to kick people out of THEIR country”. Now, we live in democracy, but what you are talking about is mere idiocy without bases to actually support what you are stating.

      • Since I didnt say anything like that, I need NOT defend it. The people who get to make the decisions
        are the people who get to vote. Illegals are NOT supposed to be able to vote. If they do, they break the law. That means that if the voters want the law enforced, it should be enforced.
         

      • Once again, we the people do not make any “legal decisions” or legislation per say. People vote to be represented, and we usually get to vote over small statutes. The Senate and the Chamber of Representatives get to make the decisions and the necessary actions to enact new laws. Law, on the other hand, is regulated by the Judiciary Power, not the people.

      • And if our Reps dont vote the way we want, they get replaced. That is indirect power.
        If they really mess up, they get recalled.

        Normally, they dont deviate too much

      •  Well, if that would be the case right now, don’t you think all our reps would’ve voted to kick undocumented immigrants already? So, should they be kicked out?

  3. BTW Flavia, why is it that when bad things happen in other parts of the world, you expect the USA to
    provide relief? I come from an era where we believed in Zero Population Growth. You seek to overturn
    our objectives. Excess population is the problem of the people who create it. I dont want it here.
     

    •  Hello Warum, I just finished reading your comment. I just want to tell you that I am not here to fight or create any more drama than what we already have here. However, I would like to respond to your message. You speak as if “your objectives” were those of the whole United States of America. Remember that everyone is entitled to their own opinion, and that my friend is your sole opinion. “The land of the Free” right? Isn’t that what our anthem speaks about? Excess population is not the problem we have here. It is the lack of understanding and openness towards that which we disagree with.

    •  Hello Warum, I just finished reading your comment. I just want to tell you that I am not here to fight or create any more drama than what we already have here. However, I would like to respond to your message. You speak as if “your objectives” were those of the whole United States of America. Remember that everyone is entitled to their own opinion, and that my friend is your sole opinion. “The land of the Free” right? Isn’t that what our anthem speaks about? Excess population is not the problem we have here. It is the lack of understanding and openness towards that which we disagree with.

      • No that is YOUR view. My view is that keeping the population of the country low, is an objective.
        Possibly NOT of yours. It is NOT my sole opinion. 

      • You are speaking on your own behalf unless you present objective facts that can back up what you are saying.

      • I have no need. Anyone who lived through the seventies knows exactly what I am talking about.
        If you dont, then you were NOT in the USA.
         

      • So what? That doesnt mean the events of the 70’s didnt happen, nor does it mean I must hold your hand explaining them

    • LOL You know my race? OMG my computer camera is on. Now you understand our “deport them all”, since we are so bad maybe you will enjoy the freedom to leave.

    •  “An eye for an eye will make the world blind”- Ghandi.
      Hello Angy, please do not make the error of falling in their games.
      We can offer more than negative input, we are better than that right?
      Frank

  4. “I choked up and I cried, right there, in front of him. I can listen to this on TV, I can read about it, I can hear it on the radio, I can receive poorly written hate mail from people who let the profanity rip and compare immigrants to cockroaches and leeches, but I cannot listen to somebody tell me to my face that my friends, other human beings, are unworthy of happiness and are criminals who deserve to be punished because they don’t have papers.”  – Flavia Delafuente

    Wow. I never realized that being able to reside in the United States of America was the raison d’etre of “happiness”.  I wonder how the Swiss feel about that epiphany? I never said they were criminals, per se, and neither did the friend of your friend, he merely stated that, “They don’t belong here.” Which, unless they are citizens or nationals of the United States of America, or lawfully admitted aliens in possession of the proper immigration documents (read Visa), they don’t belong here. They belong in their country of origin/nationality.  One does not have the right to live/reside/work/play whereever one chooses without complying with the rules/laws/regulations that govern us. It is not that difficult of a concept, actually, and makes for a civilized and orderly society/world.

    Besides, deportation/removal is not a punishment – it is merely removing them from the United States of America – they are not losing any liberty (jail), as they are free to do as they please – once they are returned to their home country(ies).  Not everyone gets to live in Beverly Hills, Malibu or Bel Aire, you do realize.

Leave a Reply

