Reflections on the March of DREAMs

Guest Post by Carlos Saavedra, National Coordinator of United We Dream

On Sunday, more than 200,000 people demanded, shouted, and linked arms together for immigrant rights.  We had an amazing opportunity to see and feel what the potential of our power can be.  The people in that march were there not because of a single piece of legislation, they were there because of their stories- stories of hope for a better tomorrow, stories of anger from the daily family separation that we all witness in our communities.  People have a lot of pain, and it has not been easy at all to turn our private pain into public action- especially in our roles as young student leaders.

Years ago, we began to struggle to be recognized as an organized group of people in the immigrant rights movement. Yesterday was one of the key points of that recognition.  We have the power to take charge of our lives and of our own movement.  The DREAM message was all over the place from banners that said “education, not deportation”, to the huge quilt that folks from Indiana brought, to a giant Pass The Dream Act flag (30 by 15 feet!) that snuck its way into the VIP section of the march.

We will be gathering links that cover the march- for now, enjoy this one, this one, and this one.

And here’s a link to the speech I made yesterday- I hope I did justice to our work, I welcome feedback from everybody.

Thanks Carlos!  Own your stuff!

2 thoughts on “Reflections on the March of DREAMs

  1. Having read this I believed it was rather informative. I appreciate you finding
    the time and energy to put this article together. I once again
    find myself spending a lot of time both reading and leaving comments.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  2. Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any points for novice blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

